Heir of Fire Review!

 Goodreads Synopsis:
Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

My Opinion:

First I have to say that it took me a couple of days to really get into the story, but once I did I could not put the book down like I stayed up late to finish the book. I blame having read The Assassin’s Blade before reading this one and I wasn’t really fond of that book and it kind of ruined the enthusiasm I had while reading Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight. Once I got over the mini slump I was so into Heir of Fire, like I loved it so much. I was a literal mess while reading the end of Heir of Fire like I probably looked like a crazy person because I was so overwhelmed with the feels. Sarah J. Maas just keeps outdoing herself and I love her for it. Also I’m writing this review while I’m reading Queen of Shadows, so I’m going to try my best not to mix things because I did start reading QoS right after HoF.

I loved the journey that Celaena encountered while in Wendlyn. At first I was getting upset with her because she was starting to give up hope. I’m glad that she didn’t because I love that she’s very strong and determined. I kept wondering when all the secrets of her past were going to be revealed and how she planned on “completing” the mission she was sent on by the King. In this book we learn about Celaena’s/Aelin’s powers and she is taught to control them by like the best person ever, Rowan Whitethorn. I fell in love with Rowan and it’s so crazy to think that for a short while I wanted Celaena/ Aelin to fix things with Chaol because now I ship her with Rowan. Rowan is literally everything, he’s the Rhysand of the Throne of Glass series. As soon as Rowan was introduced I was like there’s her mate although it hasn’t been officially said yet but I could feel it (because I read the ACOTAR series first I knew what the bond felt like and I knew that they just had to be mates). I’m so excited to see how their relationship progresses in Queen of Shadows and in Empire of Storms. I have so many hopes for them and it just drives me crazy. I also can’t wait to see who else finds their mate.

This book introduced a new point of view, Manon Blackbeak, the heir to the Blackbeak clan. At first I didn’t understand and didn’t really like having to read her chapters. Eventually I started to warm up to her and now I don’t really mind reading her chapters, but I might have read some spoilers and I am looking forward to continuing the series to see how the events I read play out.    

This review is like all over the place but that’s just how my mind was when reading Heir of Fire. It will probably be like for a while because I still have a few more Sarah J. Maas books to read and each one is better than the next.  

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Have an ALMIGHTY Day!

-Wilmarilys 

Leave a Reply

