The Assassin’s Blade Review

Goodreads Synopsis:

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out.

My Opinion:

I know that I always talk about how amazing Sarah J. Maas is and I still feel the same way but The Assassin’s Blade definitely did not meet my expectations. I enjoyed the book and I did give it a good review but I felt very conflicted while I was reading The Assassin’s Blade. The Assassin’s Blade is a collection of 5 novellas that are told in sequence and even though they are 5 separate novellas, because they are told in sequence they just felt like one book but I felt as though some of the novellas were kind of pointless; in particular The Assassin and the Healer. I didn’t really see the purpose of that novella and I felt as though it was a filler and I could have done without out. While there were good parts to the book, I felt as though a lot of things just dragged on. My favorite novellas were The Assassin and the Pirate Lord because I loved reading about how Celaena helped free 200 slaves with the help of Sam and I also enjoyed The Assassin and the Empire because it explained how Celaena ended up in Endovier.

I feel as though a lot of problems I had with the book were simply because of the sequence in which I started reading the Throne of Glass series. Someone had recommended to me in the past that I read Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight before reading The Assassin’s Blade so we chose to do that. The ending of Crown of Midnight had been so amazing so I really didn’t feel like going in the past and seeing what had happened to Celaena before all of the events of Throne of Glass. Due to Crown of Midnight being so amazing, I just wanted to know what happened in Heir of Fire so before even starting The Assassin’s Blade, I already didn’t want to read it. I had also read of review of someone saying that The Assassin’s Blade would be so emotional and that I would get very attached to Sam but I didn’t because I already knew that something had happened to him. While I did like Sam, I’m a strong shipper of Celaena and Chaol and all I could think about was how I wanted her with Chaol. It was very sad reading about what happened to Sam but I just had no real connection with him and I feel as though the relationship between Celaena and Chaol could have been developed more because after The Assassin and the Pirate Lord it was as though Celaena just randomly got feelings for Sam.

There were just some issues that I had with some of the things that happened. I did love reading about the betrayals that were present in all of the novellas except The Assassin and the Healer because no betrayal really happened there. While I didn’t have a lot of feelings for Sam it was nice reading about how he impacted her life. It was extremely difficult to give a review for this book because I love Sarah J. Maas so much that I didn’t want to give her anything less than 5 stars and while I didn’t give her 5 stars for The Assassin’s Blade I did give the book 4 stars even though it is a 3 to 3.5 stars book.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Have an ALMIGHTY Day!

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

