Throne of Glass Review!

Goodreads Synopsis:

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

My Opinion:

I honestly don’t even know how to describe how I felt about this book other than that I thought that it was absolutely fantastic. I’m a huge fan of Sarah J. Maas and I’m so thankful that I was able to meet her in June because she’s just so incredible and she did not at all let me down when I read Throne of Glass. Previous to Throne of Glass I had read A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury and ACOMAF put me in the biggest reading slump. Since reading the book in June I just haven’t been able to find a book that I’ve like as much but Throne of Glass really did it.

Throne of Glass had me feeling so many different emotions as i read the book because just when you think that one thing is going to happen, it just completely goes a different way than you thought it would. I had heard a lot of high praise for this book and it exceeded any expectations that I had for it. I felt so anxious while reading Throne of Glass because there was a bit of a love triangle that both Celaena and Chaol did not know that they were in and it drove me crazy. I felt so many emotions especially in regards to Celaena, Dorian, and Chaol because I wanted her to be with this specific person and it seemed as though it was going to go in the opposite direction that I thought but then it yet again went another way. I also loved reading about the different tests that Celaena had to overcome to try to become the King’s Champion. It was also very suspenseful trying to find out who or what was committing the murders in the castle. I was just constantly on the edge of my seat and the book had me dying to know what would happen next.

I cannot give enough praise for this book and I definitely recommend for everyone to read it even if they aren’t a huge reader. Before reading any of Sarah’s books I was a huge fan of YA contemporary but her writing has changed my reading tastes so much and now I don’t even know why I was so obsessed with YA contemporary. I consider Sarah J. Maas the Queen and she is now my favorite author because I do not know how she does it.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Have an ALMIGHTY Day!

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

