The F-It List Review!

It took me a while but I finally finished reading The F-It List by Julie Halpern. I think I’m falling into a reading stump, which isn’t good because we plan on marathoning the Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas next month. Anyways The F-It List isn’t a long book and normally I could’ve finished it in a day, but something about it made me take forever to read it. I thought that the book was extremely cliche and very predictable. Lately I’ve been really into reading fantasy novels, mainly because of ACOMAF but still. I love reading cute little contemporary novels, but I think I’m going to take a short break from them and maybe I’ll want to get back to them later.

The F-It List was another cancer related novel. In this story the main character, Alex does not have cancer, her best friend, Becca does. Her best friend also has a bucket list, which they end up calling the f-it list because Alex doesn’t like that Becca calls it a bucket list as if she were about to die. Alex and Becca fought constantly but always made up. The last fight they had was at Alex’s father’s funeral and it lasted until Alex was told that her best friend had cancer. Knowing Becca had cancer made whatever they were fighting about seem insignificant and pointless.

Like I mentioned earlier this story is a cliche so there is a love story mixed in with the cancer and grieving. Alex has a hard to grieving her father’s death and her family takes a while to notice because her mom is busy being her twin brothers chauffeur. It may not seem like Alex has time to grieve her dad’s death in between working, going to school, helping Becca with her “bucket list”,  and helping her mom out around the house while she isn’t home. Alex may be filling in all of her time with those activities on purpose so she won’t have time to grieve her father’s death because they were extremely close and it would hurt her too much. She chooses to obsess over horror movies about gory deaths instead.

She chooses a similar approach when it comes to love. She doesn’t believe that anyone will love her. She started to lose the ability to love. She secretly crushed on this boy, Leo and when he finally noticed her, they started casually seeing each other. They started to develop feelings for each other but they didn’t really show them. Their relationship was slightly aggravating to me, mainly because they had trouble admitting their feelings for each other. I was frustrated while reading about the both of them being together. I believe that their relationship was flawed from the beginning. It was extremely difficult for me to understand the connection between the characters.  

The book overall wasn’t terrible and I’m glad I finally read it because I have been wanting to read it for a really long time. I really wish I would have read the book in one sitting, it took me a couple of days because I was having a hard time getting into it. The book inspires people to not take life for granted.  

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Have an ALMIGHTY Day!

-Wilmarilys

Leave a Reply

