Books I’m Thankful For!

This would have made more sense to post this yesterday because yesterday was Thanksgiving but I was with my family and just a few minutes ago I decided to write this blog post. On instagram we’re doing the #gobbledupbooks challenge for November, created by @twirlingpages and @celinereads and day 24 was books you’re thankful for and I thought it would be a good idea to explain why I’m thankful for these books. The books I’ve chosen are in no particular order for how much I’ve liked them.

I am thankful for A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks because he really got me into reading. A Walk to Remember was the first movie I saw of his and it was the first book I’ve read of his. Nicholas Sparks has had a huge impact on my reading and my life because because of him I’m obsessed with North Carolina and during the summer my mom and I actually went to North Carolina and it was one of the best trips I’ve ever went on. A Walk to Remember is my favorite movie and I remember being in fifth grade and watching the movie for the first time and since then I was hooked.

I am thankful for City of Bones by Cassandra Clare because it introduced me into the whole Shadowhunter world which I am a huge fan of. I love Cassandra Clare so much and I’ve only read TMI but I plan on reading on TID soon, I hope. But anyway, I started reading TMI when I was in middle school and I read the first three books and then senior year of high school, I finished the series and I’m so happy that I did because it was incredible.

I am extremely grateful for The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. From the moment I picked up the book i just couldn’t put it down and it today remains one of my favorite, if not favorite book. I loved the story so much and I finished it in one sitting and I don’t think I’ve ever cried so much for a book. I grew so attached to Hazel and Gus and I still get emotional thinking about the book. The Fault In Our Stars also introduced me to John Green and I just love all of his books. I’m so thankful for him writing such a beautiful story that shows a different perspective about people who have cancer.

I am thankful for Twilight by Stephenie Meyer and I know a lot of people have mixed feelings about this book but I was and still am a huge Twilight fan. I read the Twilight Saga when I was in sixth grade and I honestly owe being obsessed with books to having read Twilight. Twilight was everything to me and I remember being on the biggest book hangover after marathoning the series because I found myself thinking about all the characters from Twilight and I couldn’t find any other book that caught my interest. I will forever be thankful for Twilight really getting me into reading.

I am thankful for The Book Thief by Markus Zusak who happened to be the first book signing I ever went to. The Book Thief is honestly one of my favorite books and all I can say is that I loved the book so much. It’s one of those books that just like completely changes you and I have no words to describe what that book means to me. I loved how the narrator was death and just seeing what so many people had to go through during the Holocaust. I also loved Liesel’s love of books and it shows you how much a single book can impact you.

Lastly, I am thankful for A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas because after reading that book and A Court of Mist and Fury which completely killed me, Wilmarilys and I refer to her as the Queen because she’s just so amazing. I feel as though no one really compares to her and I’m so thankful for ACOTAR for getting me into Fantasy books. Wilmarilys and I plan on marathoning the Throne of Glass series in a few weeks, after we finish this semester. I’m so incredibly excited for A Court of Wings and Ruin and I can’t wait to see what else is in store.

***I am also thankful for Harry Potter and I didn’t include it until now because that’s just a given. I feel incredibly ashamed because I haven’t finished the Harry Potter series but Harry Potter in general has impacted my life so much.

Have an ALMIGHTY Day!

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

