Love Letters to the Dead Review!

So a couple of days ago (by the time this is posted it would probably be a week or two ago) I finished reading Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira. I gave the book four stars on goodreads, since I did enjoy reading it, but it wasn’t one of my all time favorite reads. It took me longer than I expected to finish reading it, but I think it was because I was trying to find time to read in between classes and school work. This book kind of reminded me of another book that I read that which had a similar storyline, but I had a completely different reaction while reading Love Letters to the Dead.

Love Letters to the Dead is an emotional story of a young teenage girl, who tragically lost her sister and is struggling to live in a world where her family has fallen apart. She transfers into a new school to try avoid her old life, but transferring doesn’t help her as much as she thought it would. At her new school no one knows who she is or what has happened to her and her family, except for her english teacher, Her english teacher knew her sister and tries to get Laurel to open up to her. The book consist of letters written to dead people, which initially started off as an assignment in her english class. Laurel felt that her letter was too personal to hand in, so she didn’t hand it in, but she ended up continuing to write letters to the dead. Letters to the people who had an impact on her life, not directly, but through the words and actions of the people around her. Throughout her letters Laurel explores and discovers what life means to her, since she lives vicariously through her sister’s adventures. She learns to open up and trust people who truly want what’s best for her.

I have been wanting to read this book for a really long time now and I’m glad that I did. The stories were told through the letters Laurel wrote, and I don’t think I have read any story that has been told through letters. The story does have some scenes of rape which might make some people uncomfortable reading parts of the story, but overall the story was not about rape, it was about a young girl moving forward in her life after the tragic incident of her sister’s death. I would recommend this book to anyone who has read and has enjoyed reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Have an ALMIGHTY Day!

-Wilmarilys

Leave a Reply

