Will Grayson, Will Grayson Review!

So I finally finished reading the books that John Green authored. I have had all of his books for a while, but I have kept putting it off. I would always tell myself that I was going to add Will Grayson, Will Grayson to my TBR List, but it never happened until just recently. I’m glad that I finally read all of John Green’s books. I also really wish that there were more movie adaptations for his books. I went to go see The Fault In Our Stars and Paper Towns when they premiered.

 Will Grayson, Will Grayson is, sort of a weird book, well in my opinion it is. It is a co-authored booked, it’s written by John Green and David Levithan. David Levithan wrote a couple of books with Rachel Cohn, but the only one that I’ve read is Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List. I don’t know when I will read the est of the books that they co-authored but I probably will eventually. Anyways Will Grayson, Will Grayson is about a couple of friends who are trying to figure out who they are as individuals and how to balance friendships and relationships.

The story is told by two different characters, who oddly enough are both named Will Grayson. They don’t go to the same school or live in the same town, so it’s a coincidence or some would say it’s fate that they met. At first I was a little bit confused as to why the story seemed to be going in like a hundred different directions, I knew that two different people were telling the story, you can notice it in the writing styles. It was really easy to tell which author was which character because I’ve read other books that they’ve written and the style was similar to their other books.

One of the Will Grayson’s has a bestfriend named Tiny (if you read it or have read it you’ll know why his name is ironic). Will and Tiny have been bestfriends for a really long time, but they are nothing alike. Tiny has an outgoing personality, is an athlete, and is a relatively popular guy. Will is the complete opposite he prefers to hide and chooses not to talk, he will only talk if he absolutely one hundred percent has too. They drift apart because they think that their friendship isn’t “working” but they’re best friends who had a fight so they find their way back to each other.

The other Will Grayson, he is referred to as the other Will Grayson in the story is almost like the original Will Grayson. He’d much rather be by himself since he doesn’t really feel like he completely fits. This Will Grayson is angry at the world for something he can’t control. He comes off as a depressed character, who is very confused and doesn’t know what he wants in life. His mom really worries about him. He eventually gets out of the depressed state he was on to go on a mission to fix a mistake he made, which made him even more miserable.

I think that the way this story was written was kind of interesting. I actually like that there is a companion novel to the story. Tiny wants to put on a musical production at the high school he attends and the production was actually written out and made into another book; it’s called Hold Me Closer: The Tiny Cooper Story by David Levithan. I haven’t read it yet, but I do plan on purchasing it later on to read. I think it’ll be an easy, most likely “funny” read.

I would definitely recommend reading this story if you haven’t already, especially if you’re a John Green fan because seriously John Green is amazing. 💚

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Have an ALMIGHTY Day!

-Wilmarilys    

Leave a Reply

