I Almost Forgot About You Review!

Terry McMillan Photo and Book 03302016

Recently I finished reading I Almost Forgot About You by Terry McMillan and I was actually really surprised by how much I ended up enjoying reading the book. I had never read anything by McMillan before and had actually never heard of her because the books that she writes are typically books that I wouldn’t read. I tend to read a lot of young adult, contemporary and this book is considered women’s fiction and is an adult book. Before I even started reading this book I was very hesitant because I wasn’t sure if I would end up liking it so I went in reading the book with hesitation. At first I actually judged this book far too quickly because I remember being only barely a chapter in and I was already thinking that I wouldn’t like it but after I finished reading the first chapter, I just couldn’t put the book down. I ended reading the whole thing within like two days because I was eager to find out what was going to happen in the main character Georgia’s life.

I Almost Forgot About You follows the life of Georgia Young who is a woman that is in her fifties, has two grown daughters, that has been divorced twice, and who is an optometrist. Georgia is a woman that has decided that she is no longer happy with her life and that wants to begin making changes such as quitting her job that she finds extremely boring and selling her house. Throughout the entire book, Georgia is sort of at a crossroads because she isn’t exactly sure what she wants to do with her life and is hesitant to make changes because she feels as though she is too old to reinvent herself. As Georgia is trying to figure out what she wants to do with her life, she decides to try contacting all of the men that she has ever been in love with to see how they are doing and let them know that she hasn’t forgotten about them. Through this journey of contacting these men from her past, she is about to find closure with her two ex-husbands, gain friendship with one of her past lovers, and even find love again with someone that she almost forgot about. Georgia is also able to realize that she has a passion for decorating furniture and that it is never too late to make changes in your life and that you are never too old to find love.

What I liked about this book was really how fast-paced the book felt even when much wasn’t going on. This book was very interesting to me because I had never read a book before with a character of her age and throughout the entire book I was eager to find who Georgia would end up with and see how she was able to grow and find what passions her. Like I previously said before I wasn’t expecting to like the book at all but I was very surprised. I might consider reading more books by McMillan in the future because after having read this book, I’ve done research and have seen that her other books have very good reviews.

*This book was sent to me by Blogging for Books for this review.

-Melissa

 

Leave a Reply

