Me Before You Book to Movie Adaptation!!

Earlier this month, on June 3rd, the movie Me Before You came out. We both wanted to see it that  day, but we had previously made plans with one of the programs we belong to, before we knew the date of the event, so we felt bad if we ditched the event and went to go see the movie (the thought did cross our minds a couple of times, but we couldn’t bring ourselves to do it). The next day, we weren’t really sure if we were going to go or not, but we went and we don’t regret it.

I loved the book and we both gave it 5 stars on Goodreads, we were happy, we were sad, we were conflicted, and we were also very angry. The book was beautifully written, but I didn’t cry as much as I thought I would have. The movie on the other hand, had me in tears like half way through the movie, I didn’t know what to do or how to handle all the different emotions I was feeling, I was literally a mess, well we both were. Like after the movie was over we couldn’t not get up from our seats, we would try, but then we would fall back into our seats and continue crying. Going down the stairs to exit the theater was another disaster, we kept on bumping into each other and had to stop mid way on a platform landing to catch our balance to make sure we wouldn’t go tumbling down the stairs. We were just so upset at how the movie ended, even though we knew what was going to happen, since we read the books prior to going.

Usually I get upset when I see a book to movie adaptation in the theaters, since they usually cut out large sections of the text, that us readers find very important, but the screenwriters don’t. The screenplay for Me Before You was written by Jojo Moyes, who was also the author of the book. Me Before You is like my favorite book to movie adaptation because it mirrors the novel so closely, it’s nearly identical to the book. I am absolutely going to buy this film when it comes out in DVD format.

I definitely recommend this movie to everyone. Like I loved it so much and I would love to go see it again, I was angry at it, but I still love it. If you haven’t seen the movie yet, I would probably recommend that you read the book before you watch the movie (because books are always better). I would also recommend that you go to see the movie like right after finishing the book, you might talk yourself out of going to the theater. But, please don’t talk yourself out of going the movie was absolutely wonderful and the book was amazing, so I highly recommend reading and seeing Me Before You.

Remember to wear your stripy legs with confidence and have an ALMIGHTY Day!

-Wilmarilys  

Leave a Reply

