Lola and the Boy Next Door Review!

Recently I finished reading Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins and I loved it. The night I started reading it I ended up reading over half of it in one sitting and would have finished it that night if I didn’t have to go to school the next day. About two months before I had read Anna and the French Kiss and I loved it so much and I was worried that I wouldn’t like this book as much but I really enjoyed it. I had recently finished reading The Mortal Instruments series so I wanted a quick, easy read after finishing such a long series and I’m happy that I chose this book. What I liked about Lola and the Boy Next Door was Lola’s confidence to wear such extreme, crazy outfits without caring what people thought of her. I also really loved the character Cricket (mostly because he was 6’4 and had amazing style and was also a really sweet person) and how much he cared about Lola and how he was willing to be there for her even though it was painful for him because she had a boyfriend. My least favorite character was Lola’s boyfriend because he was too possessive and a total jerk. At times he would throw it into Lola’s face that she was never the same person because of the way she dressed and then he would find it strange when she wasn’t dressed how she normally dresses. I really just wasn’t a fan of him and it was obvious that she belonged with Cricket. Overall I really did like the book but what I didn’t like was how Lola would kind of lead Cricket on knowing that she had a boyfriend but I understood that she thought that she was in love with her boyfriend and that they would be together forever but Cricket didn’t deserve for her to play all these games with him. Despite this little thing I gave the book a 5/5 stars and would definitely recommend it and I also loved how Anna and St. Clair from Anna and the French Kiss were in the second book because I loved seeing a little more of their relationship.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Have an ALMIGHTY Day!

-Melissa

One thought on “Lola and the Boy Next Door Review!

Leave a Reply

