Books 1-3 Review of The Mortal Instruments Series!!!

*Warning* Sorry if I mess up with certain things that happened in the books because at this point the books are kind of merging together so I may mention that things happened in a certain book that may not have happened in that book but I’ll try my best to not confuse the books.

Recently I just finished re-reading the first three books in The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. The first three books consist of City of Bones, City of Ashes, and City of Glass and I loved them just as much as I did the first time I read them. Originally I started reading the series when I was in middle school and had never finished the series because when I first started reading the series there were only three published and later on the rest of the series was published. When I first read the series I was really into it but I haven’t read the rest of the series because I started reading other books and my tbr list got so big that I just pushed the rest of the books aside. Up until recently I only owned the first four books even though I never read the fourth book but I’ve owned it for a couple of years. Finishing the series was always something I wanted to do and when it was released that Freeform would be making the series into a show called Shadowhunters, it made me want to finish the series. Now Shadowhunters is currently one of my favorite TV shows and I hope to finish the series soon. This review will be on the first three books of the series and after I finish the series I will be doing a review on the last three books of the series.

City of Bones:

Even though I had previously read City of Bones, because I read it so long ago, I forgot a lot of the details of the book and while I knew many of the big things that happened in the book, I had forgotten a lot of what happened. I really enjoyed reading City of Bones the first and second time because all of the characters are introduced and you really get a feel as to who the characters are and some of the problems that they’ll face. I love this book because I loved the interaction between the characters, I love Clary and Simon’s friendship, Jace and Clary’s relationship, along with Alec and him feeling like he has to hide who he is because he won’t be accepted by his family or Clave.

The characters are what really made me love the book so much because you can’t help but even love Valentine who wants to kill all downworlders and doesn’t care about getting rid of anyone that stands in his way. City of Bones really introduces you to this world where there are shadowhunters, vampires, werewolves, demons, seelies, etc. I love Clary is sort of thrown into this world that her mother didn’t want her a part of and how even though she grew up in a mundane world, she just seems to have this place among the shadowhunters even though she never knew she was one. This book took me through so many ups and downs and made me become so invested into the characters. Even though I knew the ending of the book, the book made me feel for what Clary and Jace were going through and made me feel sadness for Simon because of how in love he was with Clary. Overall I just really loved the book and would definitely recommend it to others.

City of Ashes:

As I’ve mentioned, I’ve also previously read City of Ashes but while reading the book again, I found that I had forgotten about a lot of the things that happened in this book. I knew that Simon became a vampire and I remembered vaguely about what happened on the ship but I didn’t remember much else. When I read City of Ashes, I felt as though I was reading it for the first the time and really enjoyed reading reading. In City of Ashes, it kind of focuses more on what was revealed at the end of the first book and shows the longing that Jace and Clary have for each other and them kind of dealing with the truth that they find out. You also see Clary and Simon’s attempt at trying to have a relationship with each other and the introduction of Maia. I also love the relationship you can see brewing between Alec and Magnus (who happen to be my favorite ship) and Alec’s reluctance to show his feelings for Magnus in feared of being shunned by others. Alec’s and Magnus’s relationship is one of my favorite relationships in the series because Magnus is so sure of himself and his feelings for Alec and Alec has even accepted that he’s not only gay but that he has feelings for a downworlder. City of Ashes is kind of the book in between where a lot of things are revealed. In the first book there’s a major revelation and in the third one there’s one as well so even though a lot does happen in the second book, I feel as though it’s just leading up to all the things that are going to happen in the upcoming books. Just because I feel this way doesn’t mean that I didn’t like the book because I loved it just as much as the other two books I’ve read.

City of Glass:

City of Glass for me was really interesting because I feel like a lot of important things happened. Before reading City of Glass you’re already aware of Simon and him being a daylighter as well as the relationship between Clary and Jace. So far, City of Glass is my favorite because you find out so much about the lives of the characters and Jace and Clary in particular. It’s kind of hard to describe what happened in the book without really giving much away but I just absolutely loved the book. When reading the book again I found that I had remembered the least about that book in particular and as I began reading the book again, I found myself remembering certain things that happened. I was actually surprised that I had forgotten so much.

What I really liked about this book, is that you start to understand why Valentine did what he did and why he is doing certain things and you also to see how although twisted, he actually loved Clary’s mother Jocelyn. I loved seeing that gained insight on Valentine. I also enjoyed two of the biggest reveals in the story (which I don’t want to say because I don’t want to spoil the book for anyone.) I felt conflicted at times with this book because I wanted so badly for Jace and Clary to be together and I hated how they acted towards each other sometimes but I understand why they did it. I also hated all the things that Jace felt for himself because he was unaware of the truth. City of Glass had me feeling so many emotions and gave me the feels so many times between Jace and Clary and Magnus and Alec. I loved reading City of Glass and rediscovering things that I had forgotten.

I would definitely recommend this series because Cassandra Clare is absolutely amazing and will make you feel so many things. I’m currently reading City of Fallen Angels and loving it. When I’m finished reading the rest of the series I’ll write a review on books four to six and how I felt about the overall series. Hopefully I’ll be able to write this review if I don’t die or pass out from tonight’s episode of Shadowhunters titled “Malec” because Malec is my ultimate ship and I don’t know if I’ll be able to handle the feels. Wish me luck because this episode is going to be the death of me.

Until Next Time (hopefully)

Have an ALMIGHTY Day!

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

