My Life Next Door Review!

When I started reading My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick I didn’t know what to expect since this was the first book I read by Fitzgerald. I really enjoyed reading this book and I highly recommend it not just because it was another young adult contemporary love story. I have been meaning to read this book for a while and I decided to add it to my March tbr list and I’m extremely happy that I did. I absolutely loved the characters and the relationships formed between them. The main characters, Jase and Samantha, come from two completely different backgrounds. Samantha Reed lives in this big house with her mom who is a state senator and her sister who is heading off to college in the fall who is not mentioned much in the book. Jase is a Garrett and the Garrett family is the complete opposite of the Reed family and are a family of ten. They moved into the house next door and Samatha’s mother was not happy with it. To her the Garretts were trouble, but she never got the chance to get to know them. Samantha watched the Garretts secretly, until one day when she meets one of the Garretts, on her roof. Samantha knew that the Garrett family was supposed to be avoided, but I feel like Samantha just wanted to be surrounded by people who cared about each other. Samantha gets to spend time with the Garretts without her mother finding out and she begins to develop a relationship with the Garrett family. We get to see Samantha and Jase’s relationship grow, we get to watch them fall in love (their relationship was perfect, I couldn’t handle all the emotions.)

While reading this book I thought it had a Romeo and Juliet feel to it (minus the tragic death at the end). Samantha and Jase’s families are completely different from each other but Samantha would do anything to have a happily ever after with Jase. I truly loved this book and all the characters in it, well maybe not all. Samantha’s mother was blindsided by love, for a man who did not love her and would leave her when things got ugly. I liked how Samantha’s mom was a strong woman who raised her kids on her own, but I did not like the man who became her “boyfriend” or the women Samantha’s mom was when she was with him. Samantha’s best friend was also a character I was not very fond of ( I can’t really explain why without telling you what she did), but I just didn’t like the way she treated Samantha. Samantha’s best friend has a brother, who’s name is Tim and at first I wasn’t sure that I was going to like him, but I do. Tim’s life was hard, his family praised his sister constantly and he was always in the background. Tim turns his life around and I admire him for that. I also recently found out that My Life Next Door has a companion novel, called The Boy Most Likely To; which made me feel as though I was living under a rock because I didn’t know about it, but I can’t wait to purchase the book and read it.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Have an ALMIGHTY Day!

-Wilmarilys🌺.

Leave a Reply

