Review of The Comfort of Lies

Warning, Spoiler Alert! I just want to warn you just in case you might want to read this book.

We’ve recently finished reading The Comfort of Lies by Randy Susan Meyers and this book took us both forever to get through. Normally I can finish a book even if I don’t really like it in a few days so that I can hurry up and be done with it but with this book I just couldn’t do that. Honestly I would dread having to pick up the book and read it because I just couldn’t relate or form any connection with any of the characters. It’s not that the book was not well written even though it wasn’t the most well-written book but I honestly just did not like the book, there were points in which I thought the book wasn’t so bad but I would keep reading and continue to be disappointed. The book only contains 323 pages but it felt like I was reading a book with like a thousand pages because it just felt so long and tiresome (not that I don’t like long books or anything) but I felt like I was just reading and not getting anywhere. The most exciting part was when I finished the book because I wouldn’t have to read it anymore.

The reason that I didn’t like the book was mainly because I didn’t like the characters and the subject matter for the book isn’t normally something I would read and though I’m normally open to reading new kinds of books. The book follows the lives of three women and a man whose lives all intertwine. In our blog, Expectations of Lies (you should go check that out by the way) I gave a little synopsis of what the book is about so it basically follows the lives of Tia, Caroline, Juliette, and Nathan. Tia is a woman who obsessively falls in love with a married man and later gets pregnant and gives her baby up for adoption after the father wants her to get an abortion. Caroline is a career-oriented woman that to please her husband adopts a baby that she has ill feelings towards and ends up being the baby that Tia gave away. Juliette is the wife of the man that had an affair with Tia, who later finds out that her husband had a baby with another woman. Nathan is the man that Tia had an affair with that is the husband of Juliette who also happens to be the biological father of the baby that Caroline and her husband adopted. Honestly there isn’t a character I do like in this book besides maybe the Sister that works at the church with Tia and Savannah who is the little girl that Tia gave birth to that Caroline adopted. The reason that I didn’t like the characters were because Tia just made women look bad in her sad, pathetic yearning for a man that was married and who told her to have an abortion and she spends the next 6 years of her life crying over a man that never loved her and practically does nothing with her life because she’s still obsessing over Nathan. I didn’t like Caroline because I felt as though sometimes she had no emotions and because she hated spending time with her daughter and after having met a man a medical conference she attended told the man that her husband and daughter were both dead (although nothing happened between her and this man.) I didn’t like Juliette because she forgives Nathan for having an affair and also having an affair even though she kicked him out of the house for a while but she would constantly excuse his behavior because she “loved” him. When it comes to Nathan, I honestly couldn’t stand him because he basically had an affair to boost his ego and expected Juliette to just forgive him after finding out the truth and because he denied his child.

This whole story just made me feel nothing but frustration because the characters although flawed and I’m aware that everyone has flaws, had no control over their lives and were just acting with stupidity. I also didn’t like the ending because the author made it seem as though all of their problems were solved and that by having Tia move to California, and Caroline and her husband moving to Jamaica Plains, as well as Juliette taking back Nathan that all the characters problems would be solved. I don’t recommend this book and I rated it a 3 out of 5 stars, when I should have rated it a 2 but I only rated it a 3 because It’s not like it was a horrible book but I didn’t hate it but I hated the characters. I wouldn’t mind reading about affairs if the characters at least were well developed and were able to make their own decisions. Overall I didn’t like the book and don’t know if I’ll be reading anymore books from this author because her other books seem to be the same. The only reason I got this book was because the cover made it interesting and it was also only $2 for a hardcover but I really should have done more research because I probably wouldn’t have ended up buying the book if I knew what it was about.

Until next time,

Have an ALMIGHTY Day!

-Melissa🌸.

Leave a Reply

